Kjimenez

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts

Posted 25 January 2011 - 02:08 AM

Paintball On a Budget:
A comprehensive guide to reducing paintball costs

Introduction

As some of you may have already noticed, I have been posting this guide in parts over the past week or so, but have decided to compile it together and repost it in one thread, to make it more useful.

I have been playing paintball for nearly 11 years now. For the past 4 years, I did so while attending college full time. This meant finding as many ways as possible to save money in order to continue playing. I hope that, by posting this, you can find things out the easy way, rather than the hard way like I had to.

Edit 1/28/11: As I may not have made this particularly clear, I'd like to state that this guide is not for players who are simply trying to save a few dollars here and there. This forum already contains a wealth of information if that is your aim. This guide is written for those players who must constantly save money to be able to play at all, and for whom the most basic gear may be all that is within financial reach. So, students, high-schoolers paying for their own gear, and guys and gals with real-life commitments and responsibilities, this guide is for you.

It may also be useful for those who find themselves so focused on equipment and being competitive that they've stopped enjoying the game. Less equipment allows one to focus on the game, not the gear. To quote Thoreau, "Simplify, simplify."

Part 1: The Mindset

While it may seem odd to discuss the mindset necessary to play paintball on a tight budget, it really is vital to understand before diving further into the topic. Many players quit because they "can't afford to play", when really, they lack the dedication, self-control and adaptability necessary to play on a budget. So, here's a short list of things that will help you in your quest to reduce your paintball costs.