#1 xero

xero

Don't divide by me......

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 320 posts

Posted 07 March 2011 - 11:03 PM

Hey all-

I've now been propositioned about 12 times when buying ciggs "Hey, you should try e-ciggs! They...."

And I cut them off right there. Usually they get the hint by me shaking my head. Sometimes they continue.

And I never thought it would leave the gas station, but I just saw someone reccommend E-Ciggs as a way of quitting somking, which is what they are being hyped as.

Well, time to fess up. I smoke. Like a Chiminey. Like a train. Like, bad. bad bad.

And, Irony, I am a respiratory therapist. For those who don't know, a respiratory therapist basically helps keep patients airways open and clear, and helps to ventilate them when they cannot ventilate themselves. Basically, I run ventilators, teach people breathing exercises, give smoking cessation training... all sorts of stuff.

Then I run behind the hospital, and light up. Apparently, I'm a botard. Posted Image

Anyways, a while back, I got a nice little note in my inbox. It was from the American Association of Respiratory Care, a national organization for RT's that I belong to.

And in big, bold letters, it said "ECIGGS WORSE THE REGULAR CIGGARETTES."

And honestly? It's true. 100% true.

See, the e-cigg is basically a mini ultra sonic nebulizer. What it does is it takes a liquid (the nicotine, amonia, and a ton of other ingredients that are NOT found in regular ciggs) and throws it against a quartz crystal that is vibrating at an extremly high speed (very laymans terms...)

This produces ultra, ultra, ultra fine particles. Much smaller then would normally be found with a normal nebulizer, and MUCH smaller then with a regular ciggarette.

Effectivly, it is breaking down these chemicals into tiny particles, which makes them actually get significantly deeper into the lungs then regular smoke.

Additionally, it increases how fast these particles are absorbed into the blood.