Photo

Wanna play for cheap? No Seriously cheap, as in $10 per day or less?

• Please log in to reply
95 replies to this topic

#1 FreeEnterprise

FreeEnterprise

Sophomore Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 716 posts

Posted 25 August 2011 - 08:04 AM

I started playing paintball almost 6 years ago, and when I started, I looked at going to a public field, but the cost... Ouch; you would spend a minimum of $50 to play locally.

So being the tightwad that I am, I started looking at my options. First I needed friends to play with me, so I started looking on Ebay for a good deal.

I wanted a marker that was reliable, and easy to modify, but most of all durable, and wouldn't need weekly or monthly work to keep it going...

So since the most popular marker was a Tippmann, and the 98 was super easy to find. I started looking on Ebay as craigslist wasn't popular then. And may times, people can't spell, so searching under "tipman", "Tipmann" or "Tippman" can find you listings that others will not find unless they type in poor spellings.

Look for "lots" instead of just markers, as you usually get the other stuff for practically free.

My first gear setup I purchased had 5 tanks (2 20's, 2 9's and a 12 ounce tank) two masks, an extra barrel and a 98 custom. Since they titled the ebay listing "tipman 98" only, it had little activity, and no reserve. I picked it up for $60 including shipping! I sniped it for $45 if you know what that is.

Then I cleaned it up, aired up the tanks that were still in hydro, and gave it to my father in law for Christmas.

One down, but we needed at least 8 players to play. So I started asking around, I told my brother in law about the deal I found so he asked me to find one for him too. So he got an older 98 custom (silver) with two barrels, three tanks, and a scotts mask for $70 shipped. (again, they spelled it wrong "tipmann custom".)