17 replies to this topic

#1 GhillieSuitPaintball

GhillieSuitPaintball

㊉₣₩GҞ✞Δ

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,810 posts

Posted 21 September 2011 - 02:47 PM

Hey guys, so I'm a 16 year old kid that loves photography. As of right now I own a POS Wal-Mart camera, I've tried my best to work with what I've got, but it's just not working.

A sample of a couple attempts (Remember I'm new with a garbage camera.)

Posted Image

Posted Image

So yeah, I'm bad. I would like to find a camera I could buy that would be easy to learn on, decently cheap, but still take nice sharp photos. I aspire to become a nature/sport photographer, as I am an avid hunter and fisherman, along with an avid hockey player and paintball player.

My budget is basically under $800-900 for everything, used is A-OK to me. I'm not a brand whore, so anything works.

Please be gentle on me fellas, I'm just trying to get started.

Thanks a ton, Benny
Bob Long Rapper, Dark SFT Shocker, Ego5, NXT Shocker X 2

"There are only two options regarding commitment; you're either in or you're out. There's no such thing as life in-between."
"Experience is a nice way to say you've had your ass handed to you in a very unpleasant way and you learned something from it." Rob Rubin

#2 Nobben #44

Nobben #44

Life's too short to drive boring cars

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,465 posts

Posted 21 September 2011 - 03:57 PM

Just asking, isn't the first picture of you?(If I don't have you mixed up with someone else)

Obviously you need a better camera, but this you already know.
Every photographer has his own style on editing and composition.
The baseball picture could have been framed higher getting the players head in and not the grass underneath.

To your camera question:

I recommend a Nikon D3100 with the 18-55mm VR kit to start with, and then you can upgrade lenses as you go.
I have personally owned a D3100 and I liked it a lot.