11 replies to this topic

#1 UV Halo

UV Halo

Bringing the Big Guns to LLVI

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,631 posts

Posted 02 October 2011 - 03:45 PM

I started shooting First Strike Rounds with the T9.0, and the LAPCO .690 barrel. Once I got it tuned and feeding properly, It was an excellent performer, with a very high consistency (perceived +/- 1FPS) , and I dubbed it "Totmacher". I only upgraded to the 9.1 for the new ASA, and ultimately the Rifled Barrel.

With the 9.1, I instantly upgraded to the Rifled Barrel (LAPCO manufactured, Tiberius Sold) and I faced some serious issues. The first major problems I faced were Barrel Jams and Velocity Consistency. I sent the gun into Tiberius Arms for them to check out. The found that the o-ring (factory supplied) between the body and the ASA was of the wrong durometer (hardness), resulting in it getting squished and restricting the air path. They returned the gun to me, and I still had problems but, they were slightly reduced. I later found the barrel jam problem to be the result of heavy use (100+ shots) between barrel cleanings. Once I got past that, I dubbed it "Totmacher 9.1SD" and I started using the marker regularly (to include LL4).

However, one problem always remained- Velocity consistency. This gun has never felt to be anywhere near the consistency of my 9.0. I've had the suspicion for awhile now that the cause of the inconsistency was the gun's reg. The T9x regs are 'un-balanced' meaning that a rise in the input pressure will result in a rise in the output pressure. When it comes to unbalanced regs, better regs have a better ratio. For example, Palmer's regs are claimed to have a 72:1 (input:output) ratio so, it would take a 72 PSI change on the input to register a 1 PSI change on the output. Regs also often have an optimal adjustment range (# of turns) and if you adjust outside of this range (i.e. all the way in, or out), you begin to see output inconsistency.