Jump to content


Photo

Computer geek club.


  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#51 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 26 January 2012 - 11:04 PM

Pishaw, they're not that hard to clean. And if you enjoy cleaning your PC it's a win win. Posted Image
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#52 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 27 January 2012 - 07:59 AM

I think this club is doing pretty well, only up for a week or two and we have 50 posts!

Have you guys every heard of code academy? ( www.codeacademy.com ) its actually pretty cool, and useful. I'm doing it now to refresh my memory on some java, and I'm gonna do it on some python.
A good recommendation to beginners. Especially if you want to learn JavaScript

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#53 blckninja

blckninja

    Computer Tech

  • Chat Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,031 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota

Posted 27 January 2012 - 10:32 AM

I think this club is doing pretty well, only up for a week or two and we have 50 posts!

Have you guys every heard of code academy? ( www.codeacademy.com ) its actually pretty cool, and useful. I'm doing it now to refresh my memory on some java, and I'm gonna do it on some python.
A good recommendation to beginners. Especially if you want to learn JavaScript


That would be nice to do. Now I just need to find some coding software for java. Its been forever and I don't like forgetting it. :P

etek.jpg


#54 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 27 January 2012 - 01:38 PM

I think this club is doing pretty well, only up for a week or two and we have 50 posts!

Have you guys every heard of code academy? ( www.codeacademy.com ) its actually pretty cool, and useful. I'm doing it now to refresh my memory on some java, and I'm gonna do it on some python.
A good recommendation to beginners. Especially if you want to learn JavaScript


Yeah, a friend of mine told me about it about a year ago. Extremely useful for refreshers. Haven't tried using it to learn a new language though.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#55 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 28 January 2012 - 07:36 AM

So, anybody working on any projects, or planing a future project?

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#56 aresfiend

aresfiend

    Noob Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,329 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 February 2012 - 01:14 AM

Five days and nothing!

Time to start talking about botched computer experiments....

#57 blckninja

blckninja

    Computer Tech

  • Chat Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,031 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota

Posted 03 February 2012 - 09:55 PM

So, anybody working on any projects, or planing a future project?


By the end of the month I will have my parts for le computer. :)

etek.jpg


#58 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 03 February 2012 - 11:30 PM

I'm personally not working on anything too big. Just improving my game server, hopefully to double as a media streamer so I'm not confined to my desktop.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#59 blckninja

blckninja

    Computer Tech

  • Chat Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,031 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota

Posted 03 February 2012 - 11:56 PM

speaking of servers, i entertained the idea of doing a dual cpu rig, but thats for later. :P

etek.jpg


#60 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 04 February 2012 - 01:03 PM

Is it possible to run a computer with two CPUs? On two different motherboards? Like raid but raid motherboards?

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#61 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 04 February 2012 - 01:28 PM

If a super computer can do it, I don't see why not. It might take a whole lot of messing around with different OS' to get it to work correctly. Usually the super computer's use custom Linux kernels.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#62 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 04 February 2012 - 02:21 PM

cool, thanks for the info

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#63 aresfiend

aresfiend

    Noob Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,329 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 February 2012 - 03:06 PM

Yeah, actually the guys at MekTek are running 14 computers in one cluster running one OS but I forget the OS so I guess as long as you have a case big enough I don't see why you couldn't run two motherboards.

#64 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 04 February 2012 - 03:46 PM

After looking into it more, it is indeed possible, but you'll have to cluster the two computers together. You can't just link two motherboards together.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#65 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 04 February 2012 - 08:51 PM

I think I should email LinusTechTips and Newegg to tell them to redo thier ultimate buyers guide (lol)!

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#66 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 05 February 2012 - 12:15 AM

What's wrong with their buyers guides? I haven't looked at them in a while.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#67 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 05 February 2012 - 08:15 AM

what i said was said as a joke, saying im going to email them telling them they should upgrade thier ultimate buyers guide to a dual CPU/mother board computer system, runnning two gtx 590s in SLI running on two motherboards in raid

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#68 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 05 February 2012 - 08:23 AM

can i take the ssd out of my laptop and use it as the only drive in a desktop? (boot drive) so, i dont have to buy another hdd and operating system?

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#69 blckninja

blckninja

    Computer Tech

  • Chat Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,031 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota

Posted 05 February 2012 - 10:20 AM

can i take the ssd out of my laptop and use it as the only drive in a desktop? (boot drive) so, i dont have to buy another hdd and operating system?


If youre computer can hold 2.5" HD and has the proper connections I don't see why not.


etek.jpg


#70 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 05 February 2012 - 11:46 AM

so i could use it as boot and not have to install another version of win 7 on it?

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#71 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 05 February 2012 - 12:41 PM

You'd have to re-activate Windows. But yes. Unless said laptop is an AMD and the desktop is an Intel or vice versa.

Edited by Stix, 05 February 2012 - 12:42 PM.

xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#72 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 05 February 2012 - 01:30 PM

You'd have to re-activate Windows. But yes. Unless said laptop is an AMD and the desktop is an Intel or vice versa.

what do you mean re-activate windows? cause i was thinking about maybe building a desktop, but HDDs are so expensive right now and win 7 pro is like $140.....

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#73 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 05 February 2012 - 01:47 PM

Every time you install Windows you have to Activate it for anti-piracy reasons. But if you migrate your hard drive with Windows from an existing machine, the Mac Addresses and hardware addresses will be different than the hardware your migrating to, so you'll have to reactivate your copy of Windows. Everything should stay intact unless your coming from an AMD to an Intel machine, or vice versa.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#74 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 05 February 2012 - 04:24 PM

Every time you install Windows you have to Activate it for anti-piracy reasons. But if you migrate your hard drive with Windows from an existing machine, the Mac Addresses and hardware addresses will be different than the hardware your migrating to, so you'll have to reactivate your copy of Windows. Everything should stay intact unless your coming from an AMD to an Intel machine, or vice versa.

Wow, this is gonna sound completely in techie, but how do you re-activate windows? I only have a recovery disk that came with the laptop.

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#75 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 05 February 2012 - 09:10 PM

You just right click on my computer and it should have an activate button. But usually a pop up will come up saying "You need to activate your version of Windows".
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#76 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 05 February 2012 - 09:16 PM

You just right click on my computer and it should have an activate button. But usually a pop up will come up saying "You need to activate your version of Windows".

That's it? So I plug everything together, turn it on, log in. Then click activate windows. And I'm done? I don't need a code?

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#77 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 05 February 2012 - 10:28 PM

If there's already one on there, I think it gives you a number to call Microsoft, and you input a bunch of numbers and then Microsoft gives you some numbers to input. But it wouldn't hurt to have it just in case.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#78 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 06 February 2012 - 05:03 PM

my new project

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#79 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 07 February 2012 - 10:28 PM

Ok, so, I've been thinking about this. What is your favorite from of CPU/GPU/RAM/HDD/SSD/Case cooling? And what is your most favorite brands/models?

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#80 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 07 February 2012 - 10:47 PM

CPU, anything that fits into my budget at the time. For GPU's I tend to stick to ATI/AMD. For RAM, GSkill, Mushkin, Corsair. As far as Hard Drives, I'm sticking with Western Digital Disc drives until they come out with a decently priced 1TB SSD. As far as cases, I like Corsair, Thermaltake, and Cooler Master. For Cooling I like Cooler Master, Rosewill, and Thermaltake.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#81 blckninja

blckninja

    Computer Tech

  • Chat Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,031 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota

Posted 08 February 2012 - 12:17 PM

Every time you install Windows you have to Activate it for anti-piracy reasons. But if you migrate your hard drive with Windows from an existing machine, the Mac Addresses and hardware addresses will be different than the hardware your migrating to, so you'll have to reactivate your copy of Windows. Everything should stay intact unless your coming from an AMD to an Intel machine, or vice versa.


I knew there was some way of verifying the windows but i didnt think of what it would be. mac address would make sense.

etek.jpg


#82 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 10 February 2012 - 03:47 PM

What do you use? Water cooling or air? And explain what you have/use (what rad/pump/fans/LEDs etc)

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#83 blckninja

blckninja

    Computer Tech

  • Chat Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,031 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota

Posted 10 February 2012 - 03:56 PM

ATM only air but i might do some cooling just for my cpu, but not right now. Once I get one to OC then ill get water cooling.

etek.jpg


#84 Original Gangsta

Original Gangsta

    My name is a lie.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,698 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 February 2012 - 04:03 PM

What do you use? Water cooling or air? And explain what you have/use (what rad/pump/fans/LEDs etc)


Both. I have a lot of fans in my case, and a water cooling system too. Keeps my case at a very nice temperature, especially as I overclock.

I show up at a field that I never been to before for some rec-play wearing cargo pants with a t-shirt....carrying a old mech Spyder and two pringle potato chip cans for pods shoved in the pants pockets. The stares are priceless and after the first game or so you get to see the grins from the ref and players who know....priceless.


#85 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 10 February 2012 - 05:05 PM

I use air only right now. It's just not worth getting a Water Cooling system unless you OC IMO.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#86 aresfiend

aresfiend

    Noob Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,329 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 February 2012 - 05:23 PM

When I get my X6 Phenom I'm going to watercool my CPU then run a ducted fan on my video card just for the super high airflow

#87 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 11 February 2012 - 12:41 AM

When I get my X6 Phenom I'm going to watercool my CPU then run a ducted fan on my video card just for the super high airflow

Did you get banned again? Lol.
Nice your getting the x6? Which one. My friend wants to make a ~$1000 build with an x6.

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#88 aresfiend

aresfiend

    Noob Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,329 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 February 2012 - 05:57 PM

Did you get banned again? Lol.
Nice your getting the x6? Which one. My friend wants to make a ~$1000 build with an x6.

Yes, and it was for under-overreacting at a troll.

Anyway, It's the only black edition one, aka the 1090T Phenom II X6. Anyway, I was at one point going to be switching everything over to an i7 system but I need to start investing in mobile computing as I have constantly found a need for something a little better than my phone.

I am also going to be building a second system with ease of transport being my #1 priority for it as I need something WAY more portable than my 40lb setup I have now and I should have specs finalized within a couple of hours.

#89 aresfiend

aresfiend

    Noob Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,329 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:34 PM

Okay, my mom's laptop totally shit the bed thursday night and my stepfather needs a new computer since he is starting up 2 businesses. We are going to be buying another laptop but not in the next couple of months. I already have a Gigabyte G41M-ES2H (Found an insane deal on a dual Xeon system instead) motherboard that you can google if you really need the specs. Anyway, I am going to be putting up the rest of the parts, not because I feel that it is bad but it's always a good idea to get input from somebody else for something that has to be done right the first time.

List:
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16835106157 -Heatsink
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819116389 -Cpu
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811233073 -Case
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822136771 -Harddrive
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16827136236 -DVD Burner
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817371033 -PSU
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231108 -RAM

Now, there are a couple of things I am unsure of because I haven't worked with the brand in a few years. That would be the Heatsink and the PSU, now I don't think the heatsink is a huge deal but I don't have experience with low end thermaltake heatsinks. The PSU is something I'm not too sure of as well as I hear that Antec changes manufacturers to frequently to be reliable, on the flipside I cannot just jump to corsair as I can't put too much cash into the build.

#90 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 11 February 2012 - 11:36 PM

I would go with a 550W PSU and, as long as you're not using that for anything overly huge, that Heatsink would suffice, though I'd suggest getting a Ball CPU just to be on the safe side.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#91 aresfiend

aresfiend

    Noob Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,329 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 February 2012 - 11:45 PM

I would go with a 550W PSU and, as long as you're not using that for anything overly huge, that Heatsink would suffice, though I'd suggest getting a Ball CPU just to be on the safe side.

I would go with a 550W PSU but the computer won't use nearly 250W at it's peak and I'm literally not able to put a video card in the board unless it is is a 1x PCIe card being there are only 1/4 of the pins of a regular x16 PCIe card.

I also don't know what a Ball CPU is....

#92 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 11 February 2012 - 11:56 PM

Maybe he is referring to ball Berring fan?

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#93 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 11 February 2012 - 11:58 PM

I guess if you're not going to use it for parts or upgrade it then. But this is a ball CPU: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16835118048
I have one in my low profile PC, and it does the job wonderfully.
EDIT: And yes, a ball bearing fan.

Edited by Stix, 11 February 2012 - 11:58 PM.

xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#94 aresfiend

aresfiend

    Noob Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,329 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 February 2012 - 12:02 AM

I guess if you're not going to use it for parts or upgrade it then. But this is a ball CPU: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16835118048
I have one in my low profile PC, and it does the job wonderfully.
EDIT: And yes, a ball bearing fan.

The one I posted uses a regular bearing which I have found to be more reliable than a ball bearing since ball bearings have more of a tendency to bind. Even if a regular bearing fan does seize I can service them easily.

#95 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 12 February 2012 - 12:45 AM

I don't know, ball bearings are more efficient, cooler, and last longer.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#96 aresfiend

aresfiend

    Noob Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,329 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 February 2012 - 12:45 AM

I almost forgot, since he is also going to be doing automotive consulting he needs something he can bring with him to show whatever dealership he is going to different spreadsheets and whatnot. We are looking into tablets at the moment and I am pretty sure that I am going to have him get the Ainol Novo 7 Advanced II since it 1) Has android 4.0 and 2) has a capacitive screen and some power behind it. While I am aware it is a single core china tablet keep in mind that it is down to getting this or another tablet PC under $150.

Now here's why I said this, does Open Office use the same format for files in Windows that it uses for it's android cousin?

I don't know, ball bearings are more efficient, cooler, and last longer.

Huh? I don't see why efficiency matters here, I don't know what you mean by cooler, and I have found that ball bearing fans tend to go downhill on me rather quickly compared to regular bearing fans but that could be just me.

Edited by aresfiend, 12 February 2012 - 12:47 AM.


#97 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 12 February 2012 - 12:53 AM

As in they dissipate heat really well. Thus keeping the CPU cooler. Because while the bearings cut down on friction, they don't eliminate it totally, and still create heat. That falls under heat efficiency as well.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#98 aresfiend

aresfiend

    Noob Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,329 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 February 2012 - 12:56 AM

As in they dissipate heat really well. Thus keeping the CPU cooler. Because while the bearings cut down on friction, they don't eliminate it totally, and still create heat. That falls under heat efficiency as well.

But it's a fan... as long as it's moving at the same pace it will dissipate heat at the same speed. I don't really think the .1 of a degree in fahrenheit is going to cause any damage anyway, at least it should be if you lube it up right.

#99 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 12 February 2012 - 01:00 AM

True enough I suppose.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#100 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 12 February 2012 - 04:47 PM

fail post.
the game combat arms sucks shit

Edited by Blade of grass, 12 February 2012 - 04:53 PM.

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users