Jump to content


Photo

Help?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 spisla

spisla

    I made Mr. Rogers eat paint

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,192 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver Wa

Posted 01 May 2012 - 10:55 PM

So, I occasionally like to play my xbox online with friends. Who doesn't right? But my damn NAT is strict, or some bull shit like that. How the hell do I open it you guys? I have qwest (or century link, whatever they're called now) and I can't seem to figure it out very well. I already googled it, but it was a bunch of computer stuff I didn't understand one bit. I'm not good with computer language when talking about any programming stuff or whatever it's called haha. Anyways, help me out you guys, I know it has something to do with my router, but I'm completely lost..
Posted Image

If you see someone pulling that here hit the report button and I'll teabag them =)

NorthWest Ballers club. TechPB feedback

#2 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 01 May 2012 - 11:03 PM

What's the specific error that you get with XBL? Because there are like 3 or 4 that involve NAT.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#3 spisla

spisla

    I made Mr. Rogers eat paint

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,192 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver Wa

Posted 01 May 2012 - 11:08 PM

I can't join private chat, party chat or friends' games. And, under my classes and shit in Mw3, it tells me my NAT type is strict.
Posted Image

If you see someone pulling that here hit the report button and I'll teabag them =)

NorthWest Ballers club. TechPB feedback

#4 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 01 May 2012 - 11:20 PM

Unfortunately, there's no real "idiot proof" guide to fix the problem. If you follow the directions here: http://support.xbox....nat-type-strict, to the T, specifically setting up UPnP, and forwarding the ports, it should alleviate the issue. If none of that helps, and you still have the problem, your router/modems fucked. Also, you're wired for XPL not running wireless right?
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#5 spisla

spisla

    I made Mr. Rogers eat paint

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,192 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver Wa

Posted 01 May 2012 - 11:22 PM

Unfortunately, there's no real "idiot proof" guide to fix the problem. If you follow the directions here: http://support.xbox....nat-type-strict, to the T, specifically setting up UPnP, and forwarding the ports, it should alleviate the issue. If none of that helps, and you still have the problem, your router/modems fucked. Also, you're wired for XPL not running wireless right?

You lost me right at the bold..
Posted Image

If you see someone pulling that here hit the report button and I'll teabag them =)

NorthWest Ballers club. TechPB feedback

#6 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 01 May 2012 - 11:23 PM

Ok, first things first, are you wired with a chord to the back of your Xbox for internet? Or are you using a wireless adapter?
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#7 spisla

spisla

    I made Mr. Rogers eat paint

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,192 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver Wa

Posted 01 May 2012 - 11:28 PM

I'm connected wirelessly, but I'm close enough to use an ethernet cord if that would be a simple fix.
Posted Image

If you see someone pulling that here hit the report button and I'll teabag them =)

NorthWest Ballers club. TechPB feedback

#8 Stix

Stix

    TechPB Lurker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Cave with WIFI

Posted 01 May 2012 - 11:36 PM

Plug in the Ethernet chord. Because the problem you're having, is the same one my cousin had. The wireless adapters MS uses/sells are garbage.
xfire-stix9693
Ps3 - SLYGATHOR (LittleBigPlanet, Burnout Paradise, Team Fortress2, Killzone 2)
Wii - 5318 0896 2208 0310
Steam - slygathore
Building a computer is like playing with Legos, the pieces only fit one way
Posted Image

#9 spisla

spisla

    I made Mr. Rogers eat paint

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,192 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver Wa

Posted 01 May 2012 - 11:42 PM

I'm using built-in wireless from the newer xbox's. The shiny one's with the touch screens haha. Alright, I'll give that a try next time I play.
Posted Image

If you see someone pulling that here hit the report button and I'll teabag them =)

NorthWest Ballers club. TechPB feedback

#10 Sasquatch

Sasquatch

    Uhhh.. I bought another gun..

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,469 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Texas

Posted 02 May 2012 - 12:37 PM

My 360s always gave me NAT errors, regardless of what system settings I changed, what router settings I changed, or even if I plugged straight into my modem. Turned out to be a security setting on the ISP's main router (which they wouldn't turn off) that was bringing up that error.

So keep in mind, it might not be your part of the network.

I will laugh as they overwhelm our enemies in a flurry of spotted banana hammocks.

Sasquatch's BST Feedback Thread
Check out my Ebay sales!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users