Jump to content


Photo

This bsod is baffling me.


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 TacticlTwinkie

TacticlTwinkie

    *insert witty title*

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,974 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surf City, USA

Posted 11 August 2012 - 12:17 PM

Alright so my laptop running windows 7 has beef giving me bsod all the time lately. I can't figure out why. I havnt ever changed any hardware, and I havnt installed any new software recently. The laptop ran flawlessly for 2 years until a week ago when I used it to watch a DVD. 15 minutes into the film, bsod. And ever since, I get one at least every 2 hours. I can't figure out why the hell I'm getting them. I've updated video drivers to no avail, antivirus shows all green, I'm at a loss as to what the hell is going on. I can do a fresh install of windows 7, which should fix it, but backing up all my files to transfer over to the new install is a pain in the ass when the damn computer only works for 5 minutes at a time sometimes.

#2 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 11 August 2012 - 12:27 PM

Do a virus scan and Download/run a program called memtest86 and see if it's bad Ram.
That's what I'd say is stage one.
(when doing this boot in safe mode)

Edited by Blade of grass, 11 August 2012 - 12:32 PM.

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#3 slinkyaroo

slinkyaroo

    Yes, I'm old. Yes, I'm cranky.

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,868 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belleville, Ontario

Posted 11 August 2012 - 12:29 PM

Try:

1. Reboot your system.

2. Shut the system down. Unplug it. Wait a few minutes and boot up with battery. (static electricity fix.)

3. Start in safe mode.

#4 TacticlTwinkie

TacticlTwinkie

    *insert witty title*

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,974 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surf City, USA

Posted 11 August 2012 - 12:55 PM

I rebooted and started in safe mode...so far so good. Im going to let this run while Im at work. If it's still logged in 9 hours from now when I get home, it should eliminate the os, basic drivers, and hardware from being the culprit.

#5 TacticlTwinkie

TacticlTwinkie

    *insert witty title*

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,974 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surf City, USA

Posted 11 August 2012 - 10:01 PM

Ok so it works just fine in safe mode. So that means the culprit is an application that must run whenever I start up the computer. Any tips on finding the little bugger?

#6 slinkyaroo

slinkyaroo

    Yes, I'm old. Yes, I'm cranky.

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,868 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belleville, Ontario

Posted 11 August 2012 - 10:05 PM

Do a window update as well as flash and java.

#7 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 12 August 2012 - 06:35 AM

Do a virus scan (to be safe) and do what slinky said.

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#8 slinkyaroo

slinkyaroo

    Yes, I'm old. Yes, I'm cranky.

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,868 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belleville, Ontario

Posted 12 August 2012 - 07:25 AM

When does it freeze? When a browser is opened or vids? Explain.

If browser then try another source or disable the add ons and extensions. If browser is updated an add on may not work.

#9 TacticlTwinkie

TacticlTwinkie

    *insert witty title*

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,974 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surf City, USA

Posted 12 August 2012 - 06:08 PM

I think I fixed it *crosses fingers*. It would bsod randomly. I could go for a couple hours no problem and it would go in the middle of a game. It would go just after booting up, before I ever launched an alpplication. It would go when I'm browsing the internet. Completely random. What I had was a google redirect virus, which I thought was a seperate issue. After researching that a little, others have gotten bsod's from it. What's funny is that AVG antivirus never picked it up. I did a little research on fixes and used a few reccomended anti malware and spyware programs (don't have the names handy. I'm on mobile and at work away from my computer). They found some problems and have seemed to rectify the issue. It's been smooth sailing thus far. I'll post here again if it happens again.

#10 slinkyaroo

slinkyaroo

    Yes, I'm old. Yes, I'm cranky.

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,868 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belleville, Ontario

Posted 12 August 2012 - 07:12 PM

Do you use explorer? That seems to get hit with redirects more than other browsers.

If so then look at FF.

#11 Blade of grass

Blade of grass

    Master Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,224 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 12 August 2012 - 07:28 PM

Yeah, change from IE, it's slow, ugly, and just isn't well designed.
I would look into chrome (fastest and easiest to use browser) or Firefox (great speed, easy to use, but oriented to more savvy users IMHO).

all my legos are stored at my parents hose... so that wont be happening....

48fhih.png

#12 TacticlTwinkie

TacticlTwinkie

    *insert witty title*

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,974 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surf City, USA

Posted 13 August 2012 - 06:39 PM

Ive been using Firefox for years. I read that Firefox gets hit with it alot too. Well I have seemed to fix it *knoks on wood*.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users