20 replies to this topic

#1 Sleven

Sleven

Sophomore Member

• TechPB Players Club
  • PipPipPip
  • 499 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 10:26 PM

Here the deal, I started playing paintball a while back and was always told to avoid dry firing and it was bad for the marker. So until recently I have always bought used guns and never needed to worry about breaking in a marker, therefore I have recently purchased a brand new in box Dye NT11 and I wanted to see if i can break it in with dry firing so that i can go through the breaking in process faster. In my mind i can't think of a reason other than wear on o rings from dry firing, but maybe somebody knows if dry firing is actually bad for a marker. So is dry firing really that bad for a marker and would this be a good way to break in a new marker. Thank you.

GEO 3 and BL Ripper http://www.techpb.co...howtopic=220270

Bob Long MVP http://www.techpb.co...71#entry3245977

UNDERTAKERS PAINTBALL INC.

www.undertakerspaintball.com

#2 WiscoBaller

WiscoBaller

Master Member

• TechPB Players Club
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,655 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 10:34 PM

It is worse for poppits than for spoolies, but I would recommend against it. Go grab a cheap case from walmart and run it in your backyard to save the bolt. Think of it like a bow, you can dry fire them, and an arrow weighs almost nothing, but dry firing a bow can break the limbs because the bow is built to send a projectile towards a target, same as a paintball marker

University of Wisconsin Whitewater Paintball Club
Sponsored by KEE, H2 Paintball, Empire
The Hooligans Paintball Team
Bob Long Victory Ripper Dye Rotor Dye Throttle 70/4500
Bob Long Ripper FST

#3 paintbrawler_tman

paintbrawler_tman

Fly Like A G6R

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,287 posts

Posted 13 August 2012 - 01:48 AM

na ur cool dude dry firing isnt bad for your marker. its so dramatically different from firing a bow that I wont even go there lol.