• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Zach98

Zach98

• Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 10:57 PM

Guys how do you paint rotors? with what type of paint? post pics of yours for ideas please

#2 gamefreak054

gamefreak054

BLuRGhh

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,123 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 11:07 PM

I wouldnt paint your loader/rotor unless you have experience in painting plastics. From experience plastics seem to be more picky in how clean the plastic, what temp you apply at, and how well you apply it.

You should use a krylon fusion paint or a plastic primer paint, then most likely apply a gloss or urethane to protect your paint job. You have to do it correctly otherwise it will chip over time. Just look at all the painted loaders on pbnPosted Image. Duracoat might be better but I have no experience in that, from what ive seen that can chip over time too.

Edited by gamefreak054, 05 November 2012 - 11:08 PM.

#3 junits15

junits15

And now I am become death, destroyer of worlds

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,812 posts

Posted 05 November 2012 - 11:11 PM

I would never dream of doing it to my $200 baby...but From my experience in painting controllers. Use plastic primer then the paint of your choice (lacquer works best but is hard to find in spray cans) followed by 1-2 layers of clearcoat. If your painting a black rotor use dark colors so you can apply a thinner layer. This makes it less gummy once it dries. You can also use krylon fusion paint and skip the primer. less is more when it comes to spray paint, keep the coat as thin as humanly possible. Or else it will look like shit. GOOD LUCK!

also dont rush anything, and dont try to put the color on all in one coat. 4 thin coats is better than one thick bubbly one.

and the clearcoat is a must you can't skip it at all. It's available in all different finishes from matte to ultra high gloss

EDIT: basically do what andrew did with primer