17 replies to this topic

#1 marceldacs

marceldacs

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,072 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:54 PM

Hello techpb.
I have exactly $700 dollars to spend and am not comfortable with buying used. I have been playing woods ball for 3 years with an a5 so i have some experience with maintenance. I think that the etek4 and dye rotor would be a good choice for me and i like the way that they look together. My current tank for my a5 is a 48 3000 steelie. I know that this is heavy and small but it won't be for 5 months until i have enough money to purchase a carbon fiber tank which i think i will get a ninja 50 4500, and a barrel kit. People talk a lot about the planet eclipse stock barrels being too overbore but will it lead to really poor accuracy and efficiency? So once again my plan is etek4 and rotor now, and then tank and barrel kit later. I would like you know if the 48 3000 really is too small shot wise and when the time comes where i have enough money for a tank or barrel kit which one would be more urgent.

#2 nighthunter

nighthunter

Master Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,104 posts

Posted 14 November 2012 - 10:15 PM

The Etek is definitely a solid gun and will not disappoint.
Also check out the Axe: if you can get past the odd ergonomics, it's a great shooter.

A steelie tank won't be terrible, but I think you'll appreciate the added capacity and the weight savings. In the long run, you'll be glad you got a carbon fiber tank. I run with a 45/45 and used to have a steelie: trust me the weight differential alone is worth the extra investment.

The Rotor is one of the best options available now, and is my personal favorite.

The PE overbore barrels will be just fine for your purposes. Bore sizing does very little to actually affect accuracy. Accuracy is mostly determined by paint quality: if your paint is oblong or dimpled, it won't fly straight from any barrel.