Jump to content


Photo

Will a heavy tank mess up my ASA?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Bigman3

Bigman3

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maine


Posted 28 November 2012 - 06:39 PM

Alright, I'm looking at a steel HPA tank online and was wondering if the weight of it would basically rip the threads off a gun. The tank is approx. 3lbs.

#2 kingJurzy

kingJurzy

    OFFICIAL TechPB's best member 2012

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area, California


Posted 28 November 2012 - 06:45 PM

No. I do not recommend starting off with a 3000. Save money and buy a 4500 psi tank.

FEEDBACK: 23/0/0


#3 Bigman3

Bigman3

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maine


Posted 28 November 2012 - 06:51 PM

That was not even close to what I asked

#4 Tick

Tick

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,197 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 November 2012 - 06:57 PM

When I ref and fill tanks up at my field, I do notice that the 98's ASA's so start to wiggle and come loose after a while with their 3K HPA tanks. But, they are not stripped and all I do is tighten them back up and they're fine.

PayPal Verified | Over 300 + eBay transactions| 10/0/0


#5 G4paintballer

G4paintballer

    Gun/gear whore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,862 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Wisconsin

Posted 28 November 2012 - 07:01 PM

Since I used a 90/4500 on my phantom once, you'll be fine. And to give you an idea the 90/4500 was like 4lbs, my phantom was less than 2lb's.
Current setup: WGP Trilogy, CCM S6, Ion Xe
Feedback 10/0/0

#6 kingJurzy

kingJurzy

    OFFICIAL TechPB's best member 2012

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area, California


Posted 28 November 2012 - 07:33 PM

That was not even close to what I asked


If you look closely, I answered your question.

In case you cannot find it I will make it stand out a little.


No. I do not recommend starting off with a 3000. Save money and buy a 4500 psi tank.


Edited by kingJurzy, 28 November 2012 - 07:33 PM.

FEEDBACK: 23/0/0


#7 misterkyle

misterkyle

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,059 posts

Posted 28 November 2012 - 07:41 PM

No. I do not recommend starting off with a 3000. Save money and buy a 4500 psi tank.


this is correct, just save up and get a 4500.

#8 sameagol26

sameagol26

    I am BTDeltafan101

  • TechPB Players Club
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,052 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth Ontario, Canada


Posted 28 November 2012 - 07:53 PM

You will be fine. If the asa gets loose, just tighten the two screws and you will be good to go again. You could always loctite it with blue loctite for extra hold.
Posted Image
My Youtube Channel --> BTDeltafan101


#9 OMGPaintball

OMGPaintball

    Navy Baller

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 944 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Juffair, Bahrain

Posted 28 November 2012 - 08:28 PM

might have to tighten it back up every so often, but it shouldn't cause many problems

#10 Bigman3

Bigman3

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maine


Posted 28 November 2012 - 09:39 PM

What's wrong with the 3000?

#11 kingJurzy

kingJurzy

    OFFICIAL TechPB's best member 2012

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area, California


Posted 28 November 2012 - 09:40 PM

What's wrong with the 3000?


Heavy, long, not good.

3000 psi tanks are not rounded off so they are not comfortable to shoulder.

FEEDBACK: 23/0/0


#12 madsnipes

madsnipes

    CARNAGE 3!!!!!!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,055 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In one of those "High-Tech" caves with Wi-fi

Posted 28 November 2012 - 09:46 PM

You should be fine, but if it does get loose you can just tighten the allen keys.

#13 Pump Player

Pump Player

    Voted techpb's #1 sloth

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 929 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lutz fl, blitzkrieg paintball, orbital paintball, central Florida paintball

Posted 29 November 2012 - 04:32 PM

what gun do you have? there fine for tippmann 98's (which i dont recommend) but guns like PMR's and extcy's will not do well with them

2011 proto rail + Pinokio! --- http://www.techpb.co...howtopic=222130


#14 cybermaniac15

cybermaniac15

    Elite Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,450 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern-California

Posted 29 November 2012 - 04:43 PM

what gun do you have? there fine for tippmann 98's (which i dont recommend) but guns like PMR's and extcy's will not do well with them

How do you figure?



Anyways, the 3000 tank would work fine, but you are going to upgrade anyways.... Might as well save up for a 4500 tank.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users