Jump to content


Photo

gun blowing burst disc?!


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 06:46 PM

Hey guys so my spyder rs is blowing tank burst discs, at first i thought it was the tank but I tried a different tank and same thing first shot the disc blows, what could this be? The reg on my gun is set to 200 psi any advice appreciated thanks!

Edited by dennon21, 29 December 2012 - 06:47 PM.


#2 bigx

bigx

    Good? Bad? Im the guy with the gun.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,859 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Boston

Posted 29 December 2012 - 06:53 PM

Um sounds like it might have something to do with your ASA just a guess. Other than that I have never heard of this before.

"I'm the Anti-Christ. You got me in a vendetta kind of mood. You tell the angels in heaven you never seen evil so singularly personified as you did in the face of the man who killed you."

 

http://www.techpb.co...1 :Feedback 17/0/


#3 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 06:58 PM

Its the stock on/off ASA that comes with the gun,co2 theres no problem but hpa, first shot nothing shoots out just the disc blows

#4 Pakistani

Pakistani

    www.AliZaman.com

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,237 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Richmond, VA

Posted 29 December 2012 - 06:58 PM

i dont see how your gun would be blowing your tanks burst discs.
that would be like saying your hopper is making your gun leak.

are you sure its in fact a burst disk and not just the oring leaking? you said you had a spyder and their ASA's will often cut orings while you screw the tank in

Edited by Pakistani, 29 December 2012 - 06:58 PM.

KPS Paintball VCU Rams Richmond Rage

If you need help with a Dye gun, PM me!


#5 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:00 PM

Its 100 percent the burst disc on the tank and its not just one tank IVe tried 2 Different tanks and exact same thing happened to both first shot blows the disc Thats why i thought it was the gun maybe

#6 Pakistani

Pakistani

    www.AliZaman.com

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,237 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Richmond, VA

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:03 PM

ive been playing for 8+ years now, and i have never seen that happen.
truly stumped.

KPS Paintball VCU Rams Richmond Rage

If you need help with a Dye gun, PM me!


#7 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:06 PM

yeah its extremely annoying, i just added spyder vs tadao board, cp feedneck cp barrel and macroline to the gun so I was excited to go see how she shoots but nope this happened so now i have absolutely no idea wtf to do

#8 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:10 PM

http://www.shop4pain...thn48ci3000.htm

this is the tank

#9 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:13 PM

Could the psi of the reg do this? Like it being to High or to low?

#10 andrewthewookie

andrewthewookie

    Shaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarks :(

  • Chat Coordinator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,000 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Your bedroom


Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:36 PM

The burst discs are built to burst at a certain psi and vent the air if the tank is being overfilled or the tank reg fails and allows tank pressure air past the reg seat into the gun. It is independent of the gun, and even though it may seem like it's the gun's fault, that's just coincidence.

RebelSignaturejedicode-1.jpg
Hybrid SFT 09 Impulse HB REV-i Macroless Mech Ion
Rotor Grillz PE 70/45 Feedback - 23/0/0

Closer & Angel A1 F/S/T


#11 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 07:55 PM

So both of the tanks had something wrong with them? I mean my tank has done it twice the only 2 times i tried to use hpa instead of co2 and then it happened with completely different tank same thing everytime first shot pop ssssssssssss lol

#12 andrewthewookie

andrewthewookie

    Shaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarks :(

  • Chat Coordinator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,000 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Your bedroom


Posted 29 December 2012 - 08:06 PM

Probably nothing wrong with the tanks, just the burst discs. There are also some styles of burst discs that are weakened if over-tightened, so that may have been an issue if someone was doing that.

Edited by andrewthewookie, 29 December 2012 - 08:07 PM.

RebelSignaturejedicode-1.jpg
Hybrid SFT 09 Impulse HB REV-i Macroless Mech Ion
Rotor Grillz PE 70/45 Feedback - 23/0/0

Closer & Angel A1 F/S/T


#13 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 08:34 PM

I took my tank in and he put brand new burst disk in today, so Thats not a possibility ugh this is making me crazy!

#14 Cheeks

Cheeks

    Sophomore Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 479 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 09:23 PM

Try replacing your ASA. I mean. You might think that's not it but just try.

#15 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 09:42 PM

Okay ill have to try find another ASA but when i do ill update you guys

#16 paintballguy2255

paintballguy2255

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,027 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 December 2012 - 10:19 PM

Is all the air being dumped out of the tank?

#17 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 10:27 PM

Yeah, the burst disk bursts and all the air leaks out

#18 paintballguy2255

paintballguy2255

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,027 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 December 2012 - 10:41 PM

Ok,I was just making sure,because some new players might confuse a blown burst disk with a blown ASA o-ring.

#19 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 29 December 2012 - 10:47 PM

No its for sure a burst disk and I've been playing 5 years lol

#20 paintballguy2255

paintballguy2255

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,027 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 December 2012 - 10:50 PM

Ok,just ruling out possibilities.Are the bursts disk the same brand as the tank?

#21 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 12:33 AM

Im not sure i will have to check with the Guy that fixed it

#22 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 02:58 AM

Additional info, everytime the discs blew they Were all the 1.5k not the 5k

#23 slinkyaroo

slinkyaroo

    Yes, I'm old. Yes, I'm cranky.

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,864 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belleville, Ontario

Posted 30 December 2012 - 08:05 AM

Usually when that happens it's because of imperfections in the check ball inside of the reg. If it happened to two tanks and they use the same regs then the regs are crap.

Rebuild or replace.

#24 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 01:35 PM

So the Guy is selling sh!t tanks?

#25 slinkyaroo

slinkyaroo

    Yes, I'm old. Yes, I'm cranky.

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,864 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belleville, Ontario

Posted 30 December 2012 - 01:48 PM

I went through the same thing. Blowing disks on the first couple of shots.

Pmi sent me a rebuild kit for it.

#26 slinkyaroo

slinkyaroo

    Yes, I'm old. Yes, I'm cranky.

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,864 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belleville, Ontario

Posted 30 December 2012 - 01:51 PM

So the Guy is selling sh!t tanks?


@ $39.95 with reg? Nay.

#27 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 30 December 2012 - 02:00 PM

So its not the tAnks? Lmao Im confused

#28 slinkyaroo

slinkyaroo

    Yes, I'm old. Yes, I'm cranky.

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,864 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belleville, Ontario

Posted 01 January 2013 - 03:45 PM

It's the tanks.

#29 cpuwhiz22

cpuwhiz22

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 269 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 11:01 AM

I'm confused, what are the burst disks rated to? From my experience you see 1.5K disks on CO2 tanks, and 5K on HPA since they are filled to 3000+ PSI. Are you using 1.5K disks on a 4500 PSI tank?

#30 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 12:39 PM

Its a 48/3000 tank with both 1.5k and 5k discs

#31 andrewthewookie

andrewthewookie

    Shaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarks :(

  • Chat Coordinator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,000 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Your bedroom


Posted 02 January 2013 - 02:22 PM

I'm confused, what are the burst disks rated to? From my experience you see 1.5K disks on CO2 tanks, and 5K on HPA since they are filled to 3000+ PSI. Are you using 1.5K disks on a 4500 PSI tank?

1.5k (or whatever that rating is) is put on the side of the reg for the regulated air. Regs have two burst discs, one for tank air, and one for regulated air. The higher rated one is in case of catastrophic overfill, and the other is in case of reg failure.

RebelSignaturejedicode-1.jpg
Hybrid SFT 09 Impulse HB REV-i Macroless Mech Ion
Rotor Grillz PE 70/45 Feedback - 23/0/0

Closer & Angel A1 F/S/T


#32 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 03:07 PM

Heres a few pics
http://i719.photobuc...21/IMAG0138.jpg
http://i719.photobuc...21/IMAG0141.jpg
http://i719.photobuc...21/IMAG0142.jpg

#33 slinkyaroo

slinkyaroo

    Yes, I'm old. Yes, I'm cranky.

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,864 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belleville, Ontario

Posted 02 January 2013 - 07:37 PM

5k disc is for input. 1.5k is for output.

#34 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 09:46 PM

Its actually 1.8k not 1.5 and the tank says 48cu maximum co2 so its like someone put a hpa reg on a co2 tank its really messed up lol

#35 andrewthewookie

andrewthewookie

    Shaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarks :(

  • Chat Coordinator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,000 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Your bedroom


Posted 02 January 2013 - 09:49 PM

The tank you have is a compressed air tank, not a C02 tank.

RebelSignaturejedicode-1.jpg
Hybrid SFT 09 Impulse HB REV-i Macroless Mech Ion
Rotor Grillz PE 70/45 Feedback - 23/0/0

Closer & Angel A1 F/S/T


#36 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 12:09 AM

I know but it said co2 so i was confused

#37 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 12:44 AM

So do i just need to get a hpa burst disk then Im set?

#38 dennon21

dennon21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 05:03 PM

Turns out i Got one of the tanks from a bad batch their sending me a new one

#39 III Kezia III

III Kezia III

    Lulzjustbeingacat :D

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 878 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 January 2013 - 02:18 PM

Turns out i Got one of the tanks from a bad batch their sending me a new one

it happens but now you should be all good.

Lulzjustacat.png





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users