• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 wheelman

wheelman

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 10:21 PM

Im new to paintball. I have played at my local scenario field and I love it! Really dont like speed ball ( just my preference). I have rented for too long. Im used to blowback guns (tippmann). I really want to know if spyder has better electronics in their e grips for the MR5? My local shop says if you want milsim mag feed and spyder is what you are looking into go mechanical spyder's eelectronic have a bad rap. Need some advise. Any would be great! Thanks.

#2 The Inflicted

The Inflicted

⊥ɥǝ Iuɟl!ɔʇǝp

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,455 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 11:26 PM

Hard to say at this point which will be more reliable as both the MR5s have been out for barely a month.

Personally I'd go with the mechanical version. I've owned a couple Spyders and clones over the years, and had pretty good luck with the mechanical ones but the electronic ones have been much more finicky.. Also, if you're really interested in mag-fed play, the MR5's tiny 9-round magazine makes an e-trigger something of a counter-productive feature. Finally, as a new player, simpler is better- you don't want to have to worry about changing batteries or fiddling with settings.

Before you consider buying a gun, have you budgeted enough money to buy a good mask first, or at least in the same package?
The nicest gun in the world won't do you any good if your lens fogs up and you can't see what you're shooting at.

#3 Orange Chicken

Orange Chicken

TechPB's Most Annoying member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,611 posts

Posted 04 January 2013 - 12:00 AM