15 replies to this topic

#1 djhatche

djhatche

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 January 2013 - 06:30 PM

Hey all,

So I am brand new to paintball and have played twice so far. I currently have a stock Tippmann 98 custom and wanted to know what some good (low budget) upgrades for it would be. I will be playing a mix of woodsball and indoor rec. play. I've done some research on it and have come to the conclusion that I should probably buy a cyclone feed and response trigger and that I should probably upgrade the barrel too. Any suggestions are welcome and of course if you can give an explanation as well I am always looking to learn more about the game and equipment.

#2 kingJurzy

kingJurzy

OFFICIAL TechPB's best member 2012

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,066 posts

Posted 11 January 2013 - 06:35 PM

Do not upgrade your Tippmann, they are money pits and all the upgrades you can buy for the Tippmann can only be used on your 98c.

Save that money and buy better gear.

Why would you need a new barrel?

#3 djhatche

djhatche

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 January 2013 - 06:46 PM

No idea, ive just been reading up on upgrades and a lot of people have suggested new barrels for distance.

#4 kingJurzy

kingJurzy

• Members
  • 9,066 posts

Posted 11 January 2013 - 06:58 PM

No idea, ive just been reading up on upgrades and a lot of people have suggested new barrels for distance.

Only flatline barrels and Apex barrels do that.

Barrels do not add accuracy and the Cyclone feed sucks. Save up for a new marker.

#5 djhatche

djhatche

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 January 2013 - 07:06 PM

Only flatline barrels and Apex barrels do that.

Barrels do not add accuracy and the Cyclone feed sucks. Save up for a new marker.

what marker would you recommend?

#6 kingJurzy

kingJurzy

• Members
  • 9,066 posts

Posted 11 January 2013 - 07:23 PM

What is your budget?

#7 Pyrate Jim

Pyrate Jim

Sophomore Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip