• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 PBnJKD

PBnJKD

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 27 January 2013 - 11:20 PM

Hey guys. I'm totally new to the game of paintball. I just played for the first time this weekend and am.... HOOKED!! I'm looking to get a nice paintball gun. I talked to a few guys and they told me to go with a Tippman. I'm use to shooting real guns and would like one that can fire as close to them as possible.... Don't we all. So i've decided to go with the Tippman custom 98 with their flatline barrel. Does this sound good? Do you think a red dot would work well with it or are those just a gimmick?

#2 Tech17

Tech17

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts

Posted 27 January 2013 - 11:38 PM

Real guns and paintball guns are two different worlds when try and compare, the only thing you can really get close is the looks and with tippmanns you can upgrade and change pretty much everything. They are tanks and can be easily maintained. I personally think the red dot wouldn't really help that much since you aren't going to be 100% consistent like a real gun so I wouldn't use one but others might disagree, I also think the flatline barrel hurts you since it kinda "lobs" the ball rather than shooting it straight on. But you can't go wrong with a tippmann when starting out.

#3 IPlaySoccer

IPlaySoccer

Resident Chelsea fan

• Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 635 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:08 AM

Just got my first gun as well. I got a 98 custom and I'm liking it so far.

I can be a bit of a smartass and even an a-hole. Please bear with me.

9ca1b1c13c8d04ea.png

#4 PBnJKD

PBnJKD

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:16 AM