Jump to content


Photo

Regulator swapping.


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 10:55 PM

Hey, I currently own a 800psi output 48/4500 empire tank. The gun im getting requires 550psi, so I am going to get an adjustable ninja reg. im concerned about taking off the reg and installin the new one, Should I hand screw the new one in? Can I use teflon tape or blue loctite on the threads before I screw it in? Is it safe to switch those regs? Thanks.

#2 andrewthewookie

andrewthewookie

    Shaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarks :(

  • Chat Coordinator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,018 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Your bedroom


Posted 07 February 2013 - 11:00 PM

Yes, it is safe to swap regs. I'd use loctite at the least when you do swap them. What's the gun you're getting?

RebelSignaturejedicode-1.jpg
Hybrid SFT 09 Impulse HB REV-i Macroless Mech Ion
Rotor Grillz PE 70/45 Feedback - 23/0/0

Closer & Angel A1 F/S/T


#3 SynystrAssassin

SynystrAssassin

    Flawless is a Habit

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sun Diego

Posted 07 February 2013 - 11:02 PM

The Rogue Posted Image Dirty bastard! I would've claimed that thing in a couple weeks!

#4 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 12:00 AM

Heh, yeah, getting the rogue. Ok. Thanks andrew

#5 slinkyaroo

slinkyaroo

    Yes, I'm old. Yes, I'm cranky.

  • Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,867 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belleville, Ontario

Posted 08 February 2013 - 07:50 AM

Most guys don't use lock rite after hydro so make sure you use medium or light if you do use it.

#6 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 11:13 PM

My tank doesnt need hydro, just switching the reg..

#7 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:09 AM

also another question, Is it safe to remove all shims from the standard ninja reg? and what pressure output will it give?

#8 Antonious

Antonious

    Forever Lurking

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,824 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ellsworth AFB, SD


Posted 09 February 2013 - 08:01 AM

also another question, Is it safe to remove all shims from the standard ninja reg? and what pressure output will it give?

To be honest, for questions like that, it's probably best to call up a professional over at Ninja.
If anything went wrong, I doubt your tank's warranty and your medical insurance would accept a plea of "This random guy on the internet said it would be ok".

BST Feedback 21/0/0



#9 paintballguy2255

paintballguy2255

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,027 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 February 2013 - 11:14 AM

I believe that taking out all the shims wil set it to low pressure,but as for the reg swap,it's probably best to call up ninja.Just make sure your tank is fully emptied before you take off the bonnet,or it will shoot off like a bullet.

#10 cocker addict

cocker addict

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,236 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guelph, Ontario

Posted 09 February 2013 - 11:23 AM

Sometimes those regs are a pain to get off. When I swapped mine I had to clamp the fill nipple in a vice and use a band wrench because some companies use aggressive locitite. Also be very clean and have a clean work environment, you don't want anything getting into that tank when the regs off and don't use any rags etc. to clean the threads out, just install.

Edited by cocker addict, 09 February 2013 - 11:26 AM.


#11 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:25 PM

Ok but loctite can be put onto the threads?

#12 kingJurzy

kingJurzy

    OFFICIAL TechPB's best member 2012

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area, California


Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:28 PM

Yes but I do not recommend it.

Removing all the shims would get you to 450 to 550 psi.

FEEDBACK: 23/0/0


#13 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:30 PM

Is it bad to use loctite on the threads of the reg?

#14 kingJurzy

kingJurzy

    OFFICIAL TechPB's best member 2012

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area, California


Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:33 PM

Yes because if you ever need to get back in there it will be a pain to take off.


Are you scared the bonnet will fly off, or are you talking about the threads that attach to the bottle?

FEEDBACK: 23/0/0


#15 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:36 PM

The threads that attach to the bottle, not the bonnet threads.

#16 kingJurzy

kingJurzy

    OFFICIAL TechPB's best member 2012

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area, California


Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:38 PM

You can but I find it unnecessary. There is a 90% chance they will stay on, the 10% is when you cross thread your bonnet to your asa and the almost NEVER happens.

FEEDBACK: 23/0/0


#17 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:39 PM

Ugh, I mean do I need to put loctite on the regulator threads that go directly into the bottle when swapping.

#18 kingJurzy

kingJurzy

    OFFICIAL TechPB's best member 2012

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area, California


Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:43 PM

It is optional.

FEEDBACK: 23/0/0


#19 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:48 PM

Ok.

#20 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 01:56 PM

Also whats the best method of draining all the air from the tank?

#21 cocker addict

cocker addict

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,236 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guelph, Ontario

Posted 09 February 2013 - 03:01 PM

if you don't want to press the schrader down with a screwdriver you can screw the tank into an asa with no macro attached.

Edited by cocker addict, 09 February 2013 - 03:15 PM.


#22 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 03:08 PM

What happens if i press it down with my finger or tool?

#23 cocker addict

cocker addict

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,236 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guelph, Ontario

Posted 09 February 2013 - 03:14 PM

It's never advised to push it with your finger because you don't want high pressure air to enter your body and get in your bloodstream, you will have a bad time.

#24 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 03:25 PM

Ok so a tool... But is it loud or dangerous with a tool?

#25 asthmaticrhino

asthmaticrhino

    Skyrockets in flight! Beeewwww

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,159 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 February 2013 - 04:28 PM

Also whats the best method of draining all the air from the tank?

Shooting it dry in my experience. You get some good practice in too. Another thing you can do is take your on off asa off your gun ( if you can), screw in your tank and then screw in the on off knob part way. You don't even need macro line and it can be very fast and loud or very slow and quiet, depending on how much u screw your asa in.
Feedback: +3/0/0 Etek 3 LT LNIB

Protip. Buy a shovel. Dig and Pile REPEAT until desired effect is achieved. Builds upper body and character. Bitches love upper body and character.


#26 Nobben #44

Nobben #44

    Life's too short to drive boring cars

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,465 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land of Fresh Fish


Posted 10 February 2013 - 10:28 AM

Screw out your old one and screw in your new one, simple as that, just drain the air from the tank first.
Played with a regulator that's just screwed in since 2008. I'd advice against using locktite, as if you need to take it of, it's a complete bitch to do and you might ruin your tank or regulator.

#27 stinkfingr

stinkfingr

    time traveller

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 524 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Trapped Between The Worlds Of Make Believe, And Large Giant Multi Colored Shimmering Jello Cubes

Posted 11 February 2013 - 01:28 PM

I would add some thread sealer/threadlocker .. loctite makes a low threadlocker/ good thread sealer .. #5451, it's purple. Easy to remove, but the idea here is you have a pressurized vessel, with metal to metal threads. That is never a good thing. Air leakage is easy to occur, so a thread sealer is a good idea.

#28 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 11 February 2013 - 10:25 PM

Ok, still looking to see if removing all the shims from a ninja reg would be ok.

#29 stinkfingr

stinkfingr

    time traveller

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 524 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Trapped Between The Worlds Of Make Believe, And Large Giant Multi Colored Shimmering Jello Cubes

Posted 12 February 2013 - 09:56 AM

Ok, still looking to see if removing all the shims from a ninja reg would be ok.

I believe that taking out all the shims wil set it to low pressure

Yes but I do not recommend it.Removing all the shims would get you to 450 to 550 psi.



You have a high pressure tank, your gun operates at 550PSI, or so you say. Why would you want to lower the pressure in your tank ? The way it is set up now, you will always be able to operate your marker until the tank gets so low that it cannot fire the solenoid anymore. Why take the chance on misfires by trying to run at threshhold pressure ? That really doesn't make sense to me.

#30 Tai28

Tai28

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 12:23 AM

Well ive seen people use SLP regs on it also..

#31 stinkfingr

stinkfingr

    time traveller

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 524 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Trapped Between The Worlds Of Make Believe, And Large Giant Multi Colored Shimmering Jello Cubes

Posted 13 February 2013 - 11:41 AM

you shuld try it. take the shims out and see about how many shots you get between fills, and if you have any misfires or ball breaks, and then put them back in and do the same thing. then come back and let us know which was better if there was any difference at all. the only other issue would be that if you take the shims out, it's highly likely that over time, you will forget where the heck you put them, then if you want to sell the tank, you're stuck having to buy new shims.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users