• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 islandjat

islandjat

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 01:05 PM

Hey guys im really new to paintball-like i just played yesterday. However, it was so much fun i want to do it again but on paintball tournament or a team. How should I proceed doing matches and stuff like that? As I said I'm brand new to everything so please explain it all. I signed up for Empire Paintball the rookie card. I received an email that said: Here is your FREE ROOKIE PASS COUPON from Empire and Empire Battle Tested Paintball.
I believe this is like a free one time pass or something i dont know. It wasn't very detailed. Anyways, I want to do more paintballing and don't want to pay a lot since im really new. If it turns out well I'll be willing to spend some more money on extra equipment but for now im fine. I just want to start getting some experience under my belt and need help proceeding. Thanks-

#2 asthmaticrhino

asthmaticrhino

Skyrockets in flight! Beeewwww

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,159 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 02:01 PM

You don't just go straight from playing once to playing on a team. I started playing in 2008 when I was 13, and I have yet to join a tournament team.
The first thing you have to remember is that tournament paintball is expensive, and people don't rent guns. You will have buy, use, and maintain your own equipment. It requires travel, paint costs, entry fees, and a whole bunch of other things.
For now, if you are not prepared to spend a gratuitous amount of money on gear, just keep playing. The difference between new and experienced players is just that, experience.
Even if you are prepared to spend the money, I wouldn't just jump headlong into tournament play. Keep playing recreationally at your field, invest in a good mask, good hopper, good tank, a nice pod pack/pods, then make the dive and buy a starting electronic marker.