Photo

Fields of Battle? Prepare your wallet...

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 spqr-king

spqr-king

Lead the way, all the way!

• TechPB Players Club
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,102 posts

Posted 06 May 2013 - 07:31 AM

Downloaded the new Greg Hastings Fields of Battle game last night and really enjoyed it until I ran out of paint. At this point you are forced to spend actual money on paint or be stuck in paintball pistol hell using the Tippmann TPX... Now im no game developer but isnt this a death wish for any FPS like game? Having to literally pay for a constant supply of whatever ammunition you are using paintball or bullets or whatever in any game is ridiculous. Hopefully it changes but so far I have seen nothing on the interwebs that would lead me to believe they will...

Overall fantastic game, very fun fast paced action that changes with every field but this issue up top will not be overcome unless they let you spend the virtual coin you earn from matches on paint rather then actual money which I repeat is a deal breaker. So as it stands 1/5 would be my rating change it so I dont have to use money to buy paint and it would be 4/5 for sure...

Check us out at Retribution Sports!

#2 PEfanboy

PEfanboy

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts

Posted 06 May 2013 - 08:38 AM

Not to mention you have to use coins to get in events. They give you 100 to start, and you have to pay 20 for entry. When you do the simple math, you can only play five games, unless you run out of paint. This idea of buying every item with coins you have to purchase because you can't earn them at a decent enough pace is just rediculous. It's way too common in free games. In their defense though, how else do you think they could profit from it?
"So, how many feet per second can you get now?"
"You mean balls per second.."
"...Dammit."

Hey! I reviewed the proto rail. http://www.techpb.co...0

#3 TinyBear

TinyBear

Sophomore Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts