17 replies to this topic

#1 XGC_Cheevo

XGC_Cheevo

Pod Scalping You

• BST Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,868 posts

Posted 09 June 2013 - 11:20 PM

I have to say this first. I am NOT a doctor/pharmacist/botanist. What follows is research I've done and personal experience from dealing with this stuff. Talk to a doctor first when dealing with these plants and the products I mention. Pictures may be graphic and if you like looking at male calves, somewhat sexual ;).

First off - Just what the hell are these plants and how do they affect you?

Well, these three plants are all part Toxicodendron family of plants and they produce a certain type of oil called Urushiol. This oil is what causes the body the break out in rash condition called contact dermatitis, but we'll get to that later.

Poison Ivy
:

Will be found in most states east of the Rockies including parts of lower Canada.

What's it look like?

Grows in small bushes or vines, three leaves and red stem!
Posted Image

Poison Oak:

Found on the Pacific coast of the US and Canada.

What's it look like?

Grows in small bushes or vines, three to five leaves and red stem (sometimes)!

Posted Image
Poison Sumac:

Found mostly in wet areas of the Southeastern US, East Coast and Southeastern Canada - Basically the entire East coast but also inland near the Great Lakes.

What's it look like?

Typically it grows in smaller vine clumps made up of a half dozen to a dozen leaves. Notice the red stems!

Posted Image

These three plants should be avoided by most people. Touching them can make you break out in a rash which is actually your bodies reaction to coming into contact with Urushoil. Some rules for Poison Ivy and Oak:

Leaves number three, stay away from me

Stem is red, you'll wish you were dead

Urushoil - Oil from Hell: