12 replies to this topic

#1 reflexowner

reflexowner

Unicorns eat tacos!

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 210 posts

Posted 22 June 2013 - 10:01 AM

Is it bad to lifting weights at 14? I've been reading that is bad for you and it makes you short ( I'm like 5,4 well my friend are 5,6 or 7) and I don't really want it to stunt my growth. I'm only lifting 7 pounds weights so its not a huge amount. And I'm mostly doing body weight exercises.

/hate summer

#2 kingJurzy

kingJurzy

OFFICIAL TechPB's best member 2012

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,064 posts

Posted 22 June 2013 - 12:29 PM

There are 14 year old football players that are just as big as their 18 year old counterparts.

7 lbs is nothing. You should be fine.

#3 TacticlTwinkie

TacticlTwinkie

*insert witty title*

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,974 posts

Posted 22 June 2013 - 01:27 PM

No you're fine. Super heavy lifting may be bad at your age, but 7 pound dumbbells won't hurt anything. When I was a freshman in highschool (age 15), we were strength training for football. Of course never done anything like that before, we were going reliavely light compared to subsequent months and years of heavy lifting. I'm an average 5'10". Lots of my friends who also did it are regular heights.

#4 Old Dude PB

Old Dude PB

Safety third.

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,556 posts

Posted 22 June 2013 - 01:51 PM

Ask your pediatrician. A medical doctor might know more about what's good for your body than a bunch of anonymous guys on the internet. I know, it's a stretch.

#5 kingJurzy

kingJurzy

OFFICIAL TechPB's best member 2012

• Members
  • 9,064 posts

Posted 22 June 2013 - 01:55 PM

Ask your pediatrician. A medical doctor might know more about what's good for your body than a bunch of anonymous guys on the internet. I know, it's a stretch.

lol also this Posted Image

#6 reflexowner

reflexowner

Unicorns eat tacos!

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 210 posts

Posted 22 June 2013 - 02:33 PM