Photo

Just Purchased a Beginner Setup. Thoughts?

beginner noob newbie setup

• Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 MattCej

MattCej

• Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts

Posted 09 August 2013 - 06:41 AM

Hey all, I'm new to the TechPB forum as well as Paintball in general. A few years ago I used to play airsoft, never played paintball, and recently got the chance to play paintball and did. I absolutely loved it, and now I want to start going to my local field and playing regularly. I decided I want my own personal setup but I didn't want to and frankly couldn't break the bank, so I decided to do some research and came up with the following budget baller, entry level setup:

- Marker: Tippmann Gryphon. I had a few reasons for choosing this marker. For one, Mike from TechPB on youtube mentioned this as a fairly good gun in his budget baller v3 video, and at $70 there really is hardly any cheaper marker out there. I had kicked around getting a 98 for a while and decided against it, mainly for the fact that a I feel a heavy side loader strictly woodsball gun like the 98 would limit my play to a certain extent (as also pointed out by Mike in one of his videos). And since the Gryphon has the same internals, I figured I'd go with it instead of the 98.

- Tank: Guerrilla Air HPA 62/3000 Tank. I took Mikes advice once again and tried to stay away from CO2, but I also could not spend $150+ for a carbon fiber 4500 PSI HPA tank like Mike strongly suggests, so after doing a little perusing, I found this tank for about $60. It's aluminum and may be heavier and lacking the air capacity of the 4500, but I wanted to get the consistency of HPA without spending over $100 for a tank. I hope that this was a good choice and that it will serve my needs well.