Photo

Beginner: Buying a Etek 3 LT vs. GoG Extcy?

gog extcy etek lt woodsball speedball

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Kintakashi

Kintakashi

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 August 2013 - 10:48 PM

First off I'd like to say that I'm relatively new to paintball. I've been a nice few times now using rentals, and other friends markers. 

For the past month now I've been looking into buying my own paintball gun, and what I've put it down to as of right now is:

Brand new GoG Extcy $249.99 - VS - Slightly Used Etek 3 LT $350

GOG-2010-EXTCYBLK-EXTCY100-GoG-Paintball$T2eC16V,!ykE9s7tw28lBS!UBmbObw~~48_20.J

I've been watching a countless number of review videos, shooting videos and game play videos. I've been trying to learn everything I would need to know from buying a brand new gun.

NOTE:

I am a new player and I don't need the most expensive things to play, I just want a reliable gun that I enjoy playing with. I really hope I can get into the sport and play it often with my own gear.

With that being said I'm open to all opinions.

Summary:

I will be playing both woodsball / speedball / scenario gameplay with the gun that I purchase. I know both the extcy and the etek 3 lt is capable of doing so. 

My first decision was to purchase a spyder fenix, but I decided to go with something that seems a little more reliable. So I chose the GoG Extcy.

GOG EXTCY $249.99

If I were to buy the extcy it only seems necessary that I buy the 360 QEV and the techt L7 bolt after a bit of gameplay. I'll see how that works out.

I would definitely get a different barrel on the excty, I've decided that I would want a 16" barrel. Don't know what brand, all I know is that it needs to be ion threaded.

The GoG extcy provides great features for the $249.99 price tag, but with all the upgrades on it, it will cost more then the used etek 3. 

I would definitely want to upgrade the barrel to a 16" barrel, don't know what one though.

ETEK 3 $350 used