Photo

Cup less than a week away and I've got a problem...

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Master_Chief

Master_Chief

All or Nothing

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts

Posted 09 October 2013 - 11:41 PM

I'll be leaving for cup in six days and I need some advice regarding school. But first, here's the background.

I'm a freshman, I play basketball at a strong basketball school, and I strive to be a straight 'A' student and usually achieve that.

I'll be missing five days of school. My school defines absences two ways; excused and unexcused.

Through excused absences like being sick, doc appointments, funerals, hw and tests have the same amount of days to be taken as missed.

Through unexcused absences (vacations, everything else really), hw and tests must be made up before or turned in the day of through some means, but it is up to the discretion of the teacher. For anyone wondering its used to prevent people taking vacations during school. Sporting events are a different story tough, thats the catch.

I have worked out everything though all of my teachers (who are very understanding and supportive) with the exception of my spanish teacher. I told her "ill be absent this week from here to here and it will most likely be an unexcused absence. I have all the work done and I would like to take the xxx test before." She stopped me dead and said any work that is due or done that day will be a zero for the grade books and that is the department policy. She also said "if you were going to lie to the school regarding the reason of your absence, you probably should not have told me because now I know."