Jump to content


Photo

Gauge OK for HSA?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 sagerj

sagerj

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 09:06 PM

I'm going to be buying my first HSA tank soon and I need to know if I'm ready to screw in as is. Specifically if the little generic gauge will be okay, since I understand everything else is good to go. It simply reads "psi" and goes from 0 – 1200. I bought the generic drop forward a while back so I don't remember how it came initially.

 
1. Was there a bolt in place of the gauge (which I unfortunately wouldn't have anymore)?
 
2. If so, does that mean I'd need to buy a new gaugeless drop forward, or will this current setup be fine with the ninja screwed in as is?
 
3. Since I'm already posting, one other question. Regarding HPA tanks, does "regulator" mean it has the gauge on the tank already? 
 
Thanks in advance, guys.
 
2rxhc1g.jpg

Edited by sagerj, 04 May 2014 - 09:07 PM.


#2 PacosTacos88

PacosTacos88

    hetero-flexible

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,051 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rapid City, SD

Posted 04 May 2014 - 09:19 PM

1. You can get a bolt that plugs up the hole if you want to remove the gauge.

 

2. Your current setup with the gauge will be fine.

 

3. Yep, it'll have a gauge on it already and will tell you how full your tank is


9571786023_b75503e9e4.jpg


#3 sagerj

sagerj

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 09:26 PM

Thanks for the quick response!

1. Does a HPA tank operate within 1200 psi?
2. If so, will the gauge I have read about the tanks pressure?
3. Where online can I get the bolt to plug up the drop forward? I would like to remove the gauge once I get it.

#4 smurfinator22

smurfinator22

    Sophomore Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 710 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Calgary, Canada


Posted 04 May 2014 - 09:36 PM

1: if by operate you mean output, then yes a tank will output under 1200 psi.
2: the gauge on the asa will read the tanks output pressure, theres another gauge on the tank that reads its fill pressure
3: you dont need to buy a bolt online, you just need to go to your local hardware store and find a plug that has 1/8 NPT threads, thats the same size as the threads on any guage or fitting


 


#5 sagerj

sagerj

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 09:40 PM

Awesome, thanks.

One more question. I see ASA a lot when researching parts and/or add-ons. Like on/off asa for example.

What, exactly, is ASA?

#6 Toxin PB

Toxin PB

    California Baller

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 566 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 04 May 2014 - 09:43 PM

Air source adapter=asa

#7 sagerj

sagerj

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 09:47 PM

Literally, yes. So the question I meant would be, what is the air source adapter in reference to paintball. What does the air source adapter do?

#8 irish727

irish727

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 May 2014 - 10:51 PM

The air source adapter is where you screw your tank into so in your case the bottom of the drop forward is your Asa or air source adapter.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users