Jump to content


Photo

A lubrication dilemma


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Lord Odin

Lord Odin

    3 may keep a secret if 2 of them are dead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oak Lawn, IL


Posted 05 November 2008 - 05:27 PM

I have a 2 Liter Plus Dual on my ION Longbow and it was due for some lube a little while ago (haven't used it since). AKA says to use oil (not grease) to lube it up. However, my ION said to use grease and to absolutely not get oil inside it. This is a bit of a dilemma on what to do. Instead of putting oil in my quick disconnect and letting it work itse way through the gun, I just disassembled the reg and liberally oiled the inside but not dripping wet and then reassembled. So far, the gun is still working after quite a few test shots.

In this situation, was this the correct thing to do?

#2 Padre

Padre

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts

Posted 05 November 2008 - 08:09 PM

sounds good now but how is the longbow going to get lube? ideal situaton is get rid of the ION, get a Viking :)
Jassie's my starter:
04 Featherlight Viking|JMJ Trigger

Nautica's my trusty backup:
ICD Promaster|AKA 2L+ and SCMIII|CP roller trigger

Thinking about a Vice for new backup...hit me up if you're in GTA

#3 ABOMBER760

ABOMBER760

    FASTER THAN THE SPEED OF PANIC

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PWN Shop

Posted 05 November 2008 - 08:31 PM

If you had a second gun id put the reg on that gun, run some oil, take shots, put it back on your ion.

#4 Lord Odin

Lord Odin

    3 may keep a secret if 2 of them are dead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oak Lawn, IL


Posted 05 November 2008 - 09:30 PM

sounds good now but how is the longbow going to get lube? ideal situaton is get rid of the ION, get a Viking :)


You have to disassemble the gun to grease the bolt anyway. I did that when I oiled the reg, too.


If you had a second gun id put the reg on that gun, run some oil, take shots, put it back on your ion.


That's a good idea! I never thought about that.

#5 ABOMBER760

ABOMBER760

    FASTER THAN THE SPEED OF PANIC

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,251 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PWN Shop

Posted 05 November 2008 - 10:01 PM

it would also let you lube your ion seperately ;)

#6 zWarlord

zWarlord

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida

Posted 05 November 2008 - 11:08 PM

What you did is fine. But putting it on a 2nd marker and cycling it would be better. It will allow the oil to settle into the moving areas/parts that you cant get to.

Oh, and Padre, your sig....wow, just....wow...........yea......

#7 Lord Odin

Lord Odin

    3 may keep a secret if 2 of them are dead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oak Lawn, IL


Posted 05 November 2008 - 11:21 PM

I didn't think of this until now but I only have 2 guns that can take a regulator. An A5 and the ION. One is HP and the other is LP. So I don't think I would be able to put the ION 2 liter on the A5 because I have a different spring in it.

#8 Padre

Padre

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts

Posted 06 November 2008 - 08:14 AM

Oh, and Padre, your sig....wow, just....wow...........yea......


hahah, thankz
Jassie's my starter:
04 Featherlight Viking|JMJ Trigger

Nautica's my trusty backup:
ICD Promaster|AKA 2L+ and SCMIII|CP roller trigger

Thinking about a Vice for new backup...hit me up if you're in GTA

#9 Dirtybird8855

Dirtybird8855

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida

Posted 06 November 2008 - 09:25 AM

Doesn't your skin sizzle when you touch the Ion?
How bout I answer your question with another question; can you find Chuck Norris?

#10 zWarlord

zWarlord

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida

Posted 06 November 2008 - 01:38 PM

I didn't think of this until now but I only have 2 guns that can take a regulator. An A5 and the ION. One is HP and the other is LP. So I don't think I would be able to put the ION 2 liter on the A5 because I have a different spring in it.


The A5 doesn't have to be shooting at velocity to cycle the reg, it just has to move air. So even if it wont recock just do it yourself a few times, the oil will still move through the reg.

#11 heisman01

heisman01

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:lawrenceburg IN

Posted 11 November 2008 - 01:47 PM

this is what you do

unscrew your reg

put oil in ASA turn air on

some oil will blow out of the reg with the air u just used

turn off air

screw reg back on

-done
well see im kind of a big deal

#12 zWarlord

zWarlord

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida

Posted 12 November 2008 - 08:23 PM

this is what you do
unscrew your reg
put oil in ASA turn air on
some oil will blow out of the reg with the air u just used
turn off air
screw reg back on
-done


No...well yes, but no. It will leave a little oil in the reg, but the velocity of the air will carry most of the oil with it, leaving little to lubricate with. Cycling forces a lil oil to get into all the areas that have movement, rather than just around it, by freeflowing.

#13 meercenary

meercenary

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts

Posted 13 November 2008 - 10:13 PM

go with abomber on this 1




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users