• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 JohnG10

JohnG10

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 May 2010 - 06:15 PM

I'm new to paintball and find the tests on bore size, control length & porting length to be extremely useful. I see that a .003-.005 underbore with a 9" control bore is best, but I still have a few questions:

1. I have a 2009 Xtra with a 10" barrel with an almost mirror-like polish along the entire bore. I also have a Spyder 15.5" "Sniper" (model name) barrel with a slightly less mirror-like level of polish and barely notice a difference in the accuracy (vertical and horizontal standard deviation) with XO V1 paint. Will I notice a significant accuracy difference if I get a JJ Ceramic or CP barrel ?

2. Is the inside of the JJ ceramic barrel any slippier than the inside of the CP barrels ? (I can see the balls curving near the end of their range with a clean stock barrel, and would like to reduce the effect). Has PW's tested a 14" .685 JJ Ceramic barrel so that we can if the accuracy vector is any different than the CP barrel ? (I searched but couldn't find it in any of the tests). Does the bore of the JJ Ceramic scratch easier than the CP bore when paint or condensation is swabbed out with the fuzzy swabs (Redz, etc).

3. Does paint diameter vary enough that a barrel sizing kit works significantly better even if you choose to underbore or overbore rather than paint match ? Is the diameter mostly consistant within a brand of paint ? Does the diameter change significantly enough during the day that you'd change barrel backs between woodsball games ? (I live in Maryland, where it's often 60 degrees and 60% humidity in the morning and 85 degrees with 805% humidity in the afternoon).

4. Is the 14" or 16" total length better - from both a velocity std dev and accuracy vector point of view ?

Thanks.

#2 LieutenantDan

LieutenantDan

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,373 posts

Posted 12 May 2010 - 06:29 PM